It’s been far too long since I’ve properly introduced myself, and so I figured a good place to begin our revamping of the blog would be to tell you a bit about me.

My name’s Jerry, and I’m the blog administrator.  I also am the primary bookseller for the store, so I’m usually manning the front desk or keeping the sleeves nice and organized.  I do a lot of other things as well, but I don’t need to bore you with details.

I’m always liked books, but it wasn’t until I met my wife that I became an avid booklover.  I adore the physical aspect of books – their bindings, the artwork inside certain books, how they were designed…and I also enjoy the contents within.  Books to me are humanity’s finest and most important creation.

My favorite book of all time is Invisible Man, by Ralph Ellison.  It suckerpunched me with its vivid, harsh and incredibly powerful narrative.  I’ve never been as impacted by a book as that one, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone wanting a fantastic piece of fiction.  I also love a lot of other books, like Lies My Teacher Told Me by James W. Loewen (and his other books on the subject, Lies Across America and Teaching What Really Happened), Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand, Macbeth by William Shakespeare, The Mother Tongue and At Home by Bill Bryson, Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman, A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines, the His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman, Twain’s Feast by Andrew Beahrs, Watership Down by Richard Adams, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley, The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck, Bonk by Mary Roach, The Fallen Sky by Christopher Cokinos, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, the poetry of Robert Frost, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Edgar Allan Poe and Edgar Lee Masters, and a plethora of other books I can’t remember at the moment, but I’m sure I’ll get to down the road.

As you could guess from above, I tend to gravitate towards the classics.  I’m not quite sure why, as I have hardly read any of the books I do collect (a problem I am trying to remedy, trust me!).  For some reason they captivate me.  I have become a collector of Heritage Press/Limited Edition Club titles, for they are quite simply the finest books I have laid my eyes on that I can afford (well, there’s several LEC books that I can’t, but that’s beside the point).  The care into the craftsmanship, the beautiful artwork, and the gorgeous layouts of these books are exquisite.  I have over 50 of these books now, and don’t plan on stopping any time soon. 

Outside of the book universe, I am quite an avid gamer, and run a gaming blog called LVLs.  I’m Wildcat over there (it’s been my webhandle for a long, long time…).  I also love to read, draw and write (things I need to do more of!).  My other hobbies include photography, listening to music, watching anime, Mythbusters, Whose Line is it Anyway?, The Muppet movies of the early 80’s,  and Carl Sagan’s Cosmos, among other things, goofing around on the computer, and going to see live theater.  To me, live shows beat anything filmed, hands down.  I do as many of these things that I can with my wife, who is everything to me.

I adore being a part of this store.  I’m hoping that I will be able to share that enthusiasm with you through the blog.  I’ll be blogging far more often, and with additional help from my friendly co-workers, so I hope you’ll stick around and become a part of the blog community.  You can freely comment about anything we blog about, which is pretty neat, I think.  We’d love feedback, as we want to best serve you, our locals.  Thanks for your time!

