You are currently browsing the daily archive for 08/09/2010.

After a failed attempt to get into some fiction (which I know is good fiction, as Neil Gaiman is a fantastic author, and what I was reading, American Gods, was engaging, but I just wasn’t connecting to the narrative), I settled on a book that has struck my curiosity – Michelle Goldberg’s The Means of Reproduction.  I heard about it online, read a couple of her blog posts, and had magically stumbled upon it at a library book sale, so I felt that it was time to take advantage of the good fortune I had been given.

My thoughts are brief, as I’ve only read the introduction, but the topic alone is a very important one – female reproductive rights.  She lays out the course of the book very well, which is a boon for an intro.  It’s a controversal topic to be sure, and Goldberg notes this often in the text, but I feel that it is one that needs to be discussed, and, from the taste I’ve received so far, Goldberg is a good choice to be delivering it.  Hopefully it’ll remain that way.

Local author, popular park ranger and all-around great guy Shelton Johnson is going to be doing a special book reading and signing this Friday, August 13th, from 7 – 8:30 PM right here at Windows on the World – Books & Art.  The newly released paperback will readily be available for purchase, and Shelton will gladly sign and dedicate copies while he’s here.

Shelton is an incredible guy, and we are very excited to have our second event with him here.  We hope to see you all here this Friday!

August 2010
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031