Ah, yes, Shakespeare.  You couldn’t go too deep into monologues without using one of his at some point.  This particular piece is from Lady Macbeth, the play’s major antagonist figure upon Macbeth’s moral psyche.

LADY MACBETH

What beast was’t, then,
That made you break this enterprise to me?
When you durst do it, then you were a man;
And, to be more than what you were, you would
Be so much more the man. Nor time nor place
Did then adhere, and yet you would make both:
They have made themselves, and that their fitness now
Does unmake you. I have given suck, and know
How tender ’tis to love the babe that milks me:
I would, while it was smiling in my face,
Have pluck’d my nipple from his boneless gums,
And dash’d the brains out, had I so sworn as you
Have done to this.

These are unquestionably some of the harshest, vilest and most sinister lines I have heard from any dramatic figure.  Lady Macbeth is a dynamo in villainy, and turns the screw of Macbeth’s sanity until it snaps for both of them.  These lines are muttered before Macbeth murders the sleeping King Duncan, thus becoming the King of all Scotland.  In a play full of bizarre supernatural events, several violent deaths, and the play’s titular lead, Lady Macbeth’s malice rises above it all, and is among the most prized roles for a woman to act in the Shakespeare canon, and these lines are solid proof as to why the role is so coveted.  How often do you get to play such a wicked woman that outclasses three witches in terms of evil?  Not very often.

